Blogger Resources

Pinterest Privacy Breach #pinterestfail

Something very strange is happening to my Pinterest account right now. I logged into my Pinterest account with the Facebook login and instead of taking me to my 52 boards and 3925 pins, I’m instead brought to another person’s profile….a girl in Denmark?! Even stranger yet, when I click the button on the sidebar of my site that links directly to my Simply Stacie profile, I’m shown that I’m that girl in Denmark yet with all my boards and followers? I have NO CLUE what is going on!

This is the screen I see when I first login to Pinterest with MY Facebook page.

 Then I click Boards and I’m taken to Nelli’s Profile!

Plus, when I go into the Settings I can see all her information- email, boards, website and to change the settings on her profile.

This is really freaking me out! Where the heck is my profile?!

Well, when I click on my profile button from my sidebar, this is what comes up:

That’s my url, my boards and followers, but NOT my name and picture- it’s Nelli’s!

So what I would like to know is why am I being logged in as another person on Pinterest and able to see all her boards, info and profile settings? Why is her name now suddenly on my profile? Does she see my info when she logs into Pinterest? This appears to me to be a breach of privacy because I should not be able to see another person’s info when I’m logging into my personal account.

I’ve submitted a ticket to Pinterest for help so hopefully they can provide some answers to me. Right now, I don’t feel too safe because this person could pin anything she wanted as me or vice versa.

Update- June 11, 2012

I’m happy to report that my account is fixed and I can see my own info now when I login! Pinterest said it was a one-off error with their system and apologized. I’m just glad to have my account back!!

Stacie Vaughan

Stacie is the mom of two girls and lives in Ontario, Canada. She enjoys cooking/baking, photography, reading, DIY and is fueled by lots of coffee!

more by Stacie »