StarPals Children’s Book Series Review

Title: StarPals Children’s Book Series

About the Book Series:

The Seven StarPals are the embodiment of the seven virtues they represent. Through their daily activities, they inspire both parents and children to embrace the virtue game and apply patience, kindness, humility, honesty, sharing, thankfulness and love at every possible moment. The children’s accomplishments are then acknowledged and tracked on The StarPals Erasable Treasure Chart to promote self empowerment, creativity and fun in their everyday lives!

My Review:

As a home educating mom of three young children, I believe that in addition to their traditional education, it is equally important for my husband and I to instill values and virtues into their daily life. It can be difficult, particularly for children, to fully comprehend the reasoning or meaning of being patient, kind, humble, honest, thankful and sharing with others. Therefore, I was particularly interested in reading the StarPals™ children’s book series with them. We enjoyed two books in the series including “Patty Patience” and “Haley Humble” by Kimberlee Schultz. I appreciate how the author successfully introduces one virtue in each book and shows it in practice through a day in the life of each StarPals™ child and her Star friends. The illustrations by Matthew Warshaw are colorful and appealing to young children. I also appreciate the larger size text because my eldest son, age six was able to practice his new reading skills by reading along with me.

Patty Patience is the story of a much needed virtue, particularly for this weary mom and her children. Little Patty Patience is the first of seven StarPals™ and I love the practical scenarios that apply to many real life families. For example, it seems that in my home, anytime I have to make a phone call that my children decide they need to talk particularly loud and endlessly seek my attention. Can you relate? Patty demonstrates how she does not interrupt her mother on the phone but sits patiently painting with her baby brother at her side. My children were fully engaged with this story and particularly this example and asked questions about how to be patient like Patty. In fact, two days later while I was on an important phone call, my children were suspiciously quiet. When my call was finished, I went to check on them and they were playing in their room with their toys. They looked up and nonchalantly said, “Are you done with you call? We were being patient……” Thank you, StarPals™!

Haley Humble is a delightful book to teach children about humility. The examples are age appropriate for young children and it empowers them to follow the example of their favorite StarPals™. After learning how Haley Humble was grateful for her toys and wanted to share with other children, my own kids thought it would be nice to donate some of their favorite books to an upcoming Am Vets book drive.

The StarPals™ book series is a wonderful way for teachers and parents to discuss values and virtues with young children. I appreciate the author’s enthusiasm for our children’s futures and my family looks forward to reading more StarPals™ titles. There is also a StarPals Erasable Treasure Chart that is designed to “promote self empowerment, creativity and fun in their everyday lives.”

You can learn more about the StarPals™ book series and Erasable Treasure Chart by visiting the StarPals™ website.

You can also connect with StarPals™ on Facebook and Twitter.

*I did not receive any financial compensation for this review, though I did review a sample of the product for evaluation purposes. The opinions are based only on my experiences with the product.*


Maureen is a SAHM who left the Corporate healthcare field to home educate her 6, 7 and 8 year old children. She is a voracious reader for both herself & her kids and also enjoys a natural and organic lifestyle. She lives in Orlando, Fl with her husband Mark, three children and 5 year old boxer, Jack.

more by Maureen »