Book Reviews | The Books of Pellinor

I am very excited about this quartet of books from Alison Croggon. They are so similar in style to the “Lord of the Rings” series, yet they have a certain flair of their own.

The First Book of Pellinor: The Naming

Maerad is a special girl who possesses special gifts which she has yet to discover. She has been through a whole lot in her young life, including the loss of her entire family to war.

As the story begins, Maerad is a slave to the evil ones who have her because she is orphaned. When she is discovered by Bard Cadvan, they soon discover she is meant for greatness and has a special destiny to fulfill.

This book is rich in fantasy and it introduces the reader to a whole new world and a plethora of characters, fascinating lands and a whole new system of government. If you are a lover of the fantasy genre, I am sure you will not be disappointed by this book.

The Second Book of Pellinor: The Riddle

In book two, we find that Maerad’s power is growing stronger every day as she is continuing her adventure who is her mentor and teacher.

There is a puzzle that needs to be solved in order for the kingdom to be put back to rights and there are good forces and evil forces who really want to get to Maerad and benefit from her special powers.

When Maerad ends up trapped in the Winterking’s icy world, she discovers that the answer to “the great riddle” lies within herself and to solve it will take everything she has~ spiritually, emotionally and physically.

This follow up book to the first is wonderful and, as it should be, leaves you wanting more.

The Third Book of Pellinor: The Crow

As this magical quartet of books continue, a whole new cast emerges including Hem, who is Maerad’s brother. Maerad heads physically in one direction and Hem in the other direction making their journey to get to each other very difficult.

Hem and his own “entourage” join forces in order to try and solve “the riddle.” On their journey, Hem discovers that the answers to the riddle and within his own self as they are with his sister.

I was really intrigued to meet Maerad’s brother in the story and to engage with some new characters who will all be ultimately necessary to bring the story full circle and complete what was started with young Maerad.

The Fourth Book of Pellinor: The Singing

This is the fourth and final chapter in the series and it does not disappoint. Maerad and Hem need to find each other somewhere in the land of Edil Amarandh.

It has been prophesied that the siblings will set free the Treesong, which is the only thing that can stop the evil from running rampant.

The journey is not an easy one, as the forces of evil are doing all they can to make sure the prophecy is not brought to completion. There is violence, bloodshed and sadness throughout the land ans Maerad is cursed with horrible visions.

The only question is, will Hem and Maerad find each other in time to complete what needs to be done, or will it be too late?

Although complex, I found this whole set of books to be very enjoyable. The haunting pictures on the covers of the books help to fire up your imagination as you picture the characters “doing their thing” on their adventure. The books are just the right length to keep your attention and making you want more. Great read…

*I received a copy of this book to review but I was not financially compensated in any way. The opinions expressed are my own and are based on my observations while reading this novel.*


Vicki is a single woman living in Nova Scotia, Canada who loves to read, sing, cook for her friends and family and scrapbook. She loves to keep busy, hang out with her boyfriend and his cat and only sits still long enough to read and review books for "Simply Stacie."

more by Vicki »